I LUV You, Monogram Models!

January 1978

The Secret Society of Super-Villains #12

Ah, the ’70s – back when you didn’t need fancy names for all your different models of cars.

Chevy Executive 1: “Hey, what should we call this new van we’re making?”

Chevy Executive 2: “What about… THE CHEVY VAN!?”

Chevy Executive 1: “That’s PERFECT!”

1978-01_MonogramCars_P

So after looking it up, I learned that LUV stands for “light utility vehicle,” which makes sense, but I still find it kind of funny that a pickup truck (normally marketed toward tough, rugged, manly men) would have “LUV” (something I normally associate with those terrible, chalky conversation heart candies) painted in big letters on the side.

 

Do you enjoy reading Comic Book Ads? If so, please consider supporting me by clicking here for my Amazon link – I’ll get a percentage from everything you order! Thanks!

Leave a comment